Martyna Kosecka

(c) Siv Dolmen

Martyna Kosecka’s music grows out of her interest in philosophy, physics, linguistics and the mythologies and fables of the world. She is a Polish composer, performer, conductor, curator and researcher in new music. In her projects she works with narratives, microtonality, symbolism and ritualism, by using multidisciplinary solutions. She emphasises the richness of transcultural relationships in art, drawing from the cultures of Iran, Poland and Norway, the countries she has connected through her life.
Since 2023, Martyna holds a Ph.D Research Fellow position at the Norwegian Academy of Music in Oslo, pursuing her research on mini-opera and the role and treatment of women in contemporary society. Her compositions are published by Donemus Holland. Her music is performed at festivals and concerts around the world, including the International Festival of Contemporary Music Warsaw Autumn, rainy days festival, Ostrava Days Festival or Music Biennale Zagreb.
Rubaʿi (2020)
performed in ACOUSMONIUM 2024 in echoraum / Vienna

is a type of short poem consisting of four lines, popular especially in classical Persian poetry. In this composition, I have used four different types of voices, reciting Rubaiyat by Persian poet Omar Khayyam, and transformed the original material into a certain musical odyssey of sounds. Although the meaning of the texts is very close to my heart, I do not approach the material of Khayyam's poetry strictly semantically; I want to treat it purely sonically and create a specific color narrative, a sort of experimental phrasing by manipulating the arrangement of the particles of the musical material, in a sense dreamed-up, imaginary and rewritten poetry verses. The very form of the piece also refers to the quatrain, with the usually contrasting third hemistich of rubaiyat, which in this composition is a kind of dreamlike suspension of the musical action.

Virya (2023-4)
performed in ACOUSMONIUM 2024 in echoraum / Vienna

is a radio poem inspired by the poem "Window" by the Persian feminist poet and film director Forugh Farrokhzad (1934-1967). Here, the text of the English translation (recited by the composer herself) meets the spirit of the original Persian words (recited by Hengameh Mofid), represented by the poet herself, and the two interpreters of her writings. The three share a window, analyse the world through parallel dimensions and dream “for a moment of awareness, and seeing, and silence”.
The work commemorates the 90th birth anniversary of the poet.
The composition was supported by the Statens Kunstnerstipend in Norway.